Monday, February 27 ::: Final Judgment

To view this reading in its proper format with audio, go to https://lentreading.wordpress.com/ 

When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him,  then he will sit on his glorious throne.  Before him  will be gathered  all the nations, and  he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates  the sheep from the goats.  And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left.  Then  the King will say to  those on his right, ‘Come, you  who are blessed by my Father,  inherit  the kingdom  prepared for you  from the foundation of the world.  For  I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you  gave me drink,  I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me,  I was sick and you  visited me,  I was in prison and you came to me.’  Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink?  And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you?  And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’  And  the King will answer them,  ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these  my brothers, you did it to me.’ 

“Then he will say to those on his left,  ‘Depart from me, you  cursed, into  the eternal fire prepared for  the devil and his angels.  For  I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink, I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these,  you did not do it to me.’ And these will go away  into eternal punishment, but the righteous  into  eternal life.”

Matthew 25:31-46

audio : “One Last Look”, Amon Tobin

image : Joel Tjintjelaar

Many, indeed, are the wondrous happenings of that time: God hanging from a Cross; the sun made dark and again flaming out; for it was fitting that creation should mourn with its Creator.  The temple veil rent, blood and water flowing from His side; the earth shaken, the rocks shattered because of the Rock; the dead risen to bear witness to the final and universal resurrection of the dead.  The happenings at the sepulcher and after the sepulcher—who can fittingly recount them?  Yet not one of them can be compared to the miracle of my salvation.

A few drops of blood renew the whole world.

Gregory Nazianzen, 4th century

Leave a Reply

