Monday, March 5 ::: We Have Sinned

To view this reading in its proper format with audio, go to lentreading.wordpress.com

Then I turned my face to the Lord God, seeking him by prayer and pleas for mercy with fasting and sackcloth and ashes.  I prayed to the Lord my God and made confession, saying, “O Lord, the great and awesome God, who keeps covenant and steadfast love with those who love him and keep his commandments, we have sinned and done wrong and acted wickedly and rebelled, turning aside from your commandments and rules.  We have not listened to your servants the prophets, who spoke in your name to our kings, our princes, and our fathers, and to all the people of the land.  To you, O Lord, belongs righteousness, but to us open shame, as at this day, to the men of Judah, to the inhabitants of Jerusalem, and to all Israel, those who are near and those who are far away, in all the lands to which you have driven them, because of the treachery that they have committed against you.  To us, O Lord, belongs open shame, to our kings, to our princes, and to our fathers, because we have sinned against you.  To the Lord our God belong mercy and forgiveness, for we have rebelled against him and have not obeyed the voice of the Lord our God by walking in his laws, which he set before us by his servants the prophets. 

Daniel 9:3-10

[audio http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4307025/Music/Bartok%2C%20Music%20for%20Strings%2C%20Percussion%20Celesta%20%28Fricsay%29%20II.mp3 ]

audio : Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, II Allegro , Bela Bartok (1936)

image : Golgotha, Edvard Munch (1900)

According to God’s righteous judgment, we deserve punishment both in this world and forever after: how then can we escape this punishment and return to God’s favor?  

God requires that His justice be satisfied.  Therefore, the claims of His justice must be paid in full, either by ourselves or another.

Heidelberg Catechism Q & A 12, 16th century

 

2 comments

  1. That one smiling, jeering face under an openly shamed Christ has really gotten to me. It makes me want the mercy and forgiveness that belong to the Lord. I am glad that these are such a encouragement, Beth. Thank you for walking this Lent with the church.

  2. That Edvard Munch was an unhappy man. Kevin, I am so grateful for your gift of pulling all of these pieces together and using them to point me to Jesus. I realized last week that I felt vaguely ashamed that I had to rely on you to do that. My need to be clever and together and in charge stopped me from remembering that it is your job as my pastor to find the resources and put them together in this way, and my place in the kingdom to use them to worship God in private and love Him and His children in public. My students don’t know how much for which they have to thank you. I only sort of do, but thank you. God keeps using you to reveal Himself to me and to give me joy.

Leave a Reply

