Saturday, March 24 ::: To You I Have Committed My Cause

To view this reading in its proper format with audio, go to lentreading.wordpress.com

The Lord made it known to me and I knew;
then you showed me their deeds.
But I was like a gentle lamb
led to the slaughter.
I did not know it was against me
they devised schemes, saying,
“Let us destroy the tree with its fruit,
let us cut him off from the land of the living,
that his name be remembered no more.”
But, O Lord of hosts, who judges righteously,
who tests the heart and the mind,
let me see your vengeance upon them,
for to you have I committed my cause.

Jeremiah 11:18-20

audio :  Scarlet Town, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (2011)

image : The Voice Of Blood, Rene Magritte (1959)

God has reigned from a Tree. How favored the Tree on whose branches hung the Ransom of the world; it was made a balance on which His body was weighed, and bore away the prey that hell had claimed.

 Venantius Fortunatus, 6th century


Leave a Reply

