Saturday February 23 ::: See His Salvation

To view this reading in its proper format with audio, go to lentreading.wordpress.com

Give attention to me, my people,
and give ear to me, my nation;
for a law will go out from me,
and I will set my justice for a light to the peoples.
My righteousness draws near,
my salvation has gone out,
and my arms will judge the peoples;
the coastlands hope for me,
and for my arm they wait.
Lift up your eyes to the heavens,
and look at the earth beneath;
for the heavens vanish like smoke,
the earth will wear out like a garment,
and they who dwell in it will die in like manner;
but my salvation will be forever,
and my righteousness will never be dismayed.

Listen to me, you who know righteousness,
the people in whose heart is my law;
fear not the reproach of man,
nor be dismayed at their revilings.
For the moth will eat them up like a garment,
and the worm will eat them like wool;
but my righteousness will be forever,
and my salvation to all generations.

Isaiah 51:4-8

sound  ::  Toxicity, System Of A Down (2001)

image  :: Etching for Poems of W.B. Yeats by Helen Vendler, Richard Diebenkorn (1990)

- Helen Vendler, Poems of W.B. YeatsHere dies another day
During which I have had eyes, ears, hands,
And the great world around me;
And with tomorrow begins another.
Why am I allowed two?

G.K. Chesterton, 20th century

Leave a Reply

