Monday March 24 :: Heart-Felt

Sing aloud to God our strength;
    shout for joy to the God of Jacob!
Raise a song; sound the tambourine,
    the sweet lyre with the harp.
Blow the trumpet at the new moon,
    at the full moon, on our feast day.

For it is a statute for Israel,
    a rule of the God of Jacob.
He made it a decree in Joseph
    when he went out over the land of Egypt.
I hear a language I had not known:
“I relieved your shoulder of the burden;
    your hands were freed from the basket.
In distress you called, and I delivered you;
    I answered you in the secret place of thunder;
    I tested you at the waters of Meribah.
Hear, O my people, while I admonish you!
    O Israel, if you would but listen to me!
There shall be no strange god among you;
    you shall not bow down to a foreign god.
I am the Lord your God,
    who brought you up out of the land of Egypt.
    Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.”

Psalm 81:1-10

sound  ::  Dixit Dominus (“The LORD Said”) in D major, Part II, RV 594, Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)

image  ::  Painting, Jean Pierre Ruel (b.1970, France)Jean Pierre Ruel (b.1970, France)

Look upon the heart-felt desires
of Your humble servants, Almighty God,
and stretch forth the right hand of Your majesty
to be our defense against all our enemies;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

The Book of Common Prayer

Leave a Reply

