Thursday April 3 :: Eat, Speak

In the thirtieth year, in the fourth month, on the fifth day of the month, as I was among the exiles by the Chebar canal, the heavens were opened, and I saw visions of God. On the fifth day of the month (it was the fifth year of the exile of King Jehoiachin), the word of the Lord came to Ezekiel the priest, the son of Buzi, in the land of the Chaldeans by the Chebar canal, and the hand of the Lord was upon him there…

“But you, son of man, hear what I say to you. Be not rebellious like that rebellious house; open your mouth and eat what I give you.” And when I looked, behold, a hand was stretched out to me, and behold, a scroll of a book was in it. And he spread it before me. And it had writing on the front and on the back, and there were written on it words of lamentation and mourning and woe.

And he said to me, “Son of man, eat whatever you find here. Eat this scroll, and go, speak to the house of Israel.” So I opened my mouth, and he gave me this scroll to eat. And he said to me, “Son of man, feed your belly with this scroll that I give you and fill your stomach with it.” Then I ate it, and it was in my mouth as sweet as honey.

Ezekiel 1:1-3; 2:8-3:3

sound  ::  Waiting Room, Fugazi (1989)

image  :: Oven, Corneliu Baba (b.1906, Romanian)

Oven, Corneliu Baba (b.1906, Romanian)

Almighty and most merciful God,
drive from us all weakness of body, mind and spirit;
that, being restored to wholeness,
we may with free hearts become what You intend us to be
and accomplish what You want us to do;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

The Book of Common Prayer

Leave a Reply

