Palm Sunday April 13 :: Like a Flint

The Lord God has given me
    the tongue of those who are taught,
that I may know how to sustain with a word
    him who is weary.
Morning by morning he awakens;
    he awakens my ear
    to hear as those who are taught.
The Lord God has opened my ear,
    and I was not rebellious;
    I turned not backward.
I gave my back to those who strike,
    and my cheeks to those who pull out the beard;
I hid not my face
    from disgrace and spitting.

But the Lord God helps me;
    therefore I have not been disgraced;
therefore I have set my face like a flint,
    and I know that I shall not be put to shame.
   He who vindicates me is near.
Who will contend with me?
    Let us stand up together.
Who is my adversary?
    Let him come near to me.
Behold, the Lord God helps me;
    who will declare me guilty?

Isaiah 50:4-9

sound  :: Bear Dog Grit, Noam Pikelny (2011)

image  :: Staircase in Capri, John Singer Sargent (1878, American)

Staircase in Capri, John Singer Sargent (1878, American)

Almighty and ever-living God,
in Your tender love for the human race
You sent Your Son our Savior Jesus Christ
to take upon Him our nature,
and to suffer death upon the cross,
giving us the example of His great humility:
Mercifully grant that we may walk
in the way of His suffering,
and also share in His resurrection;
through Jesus Christ our Lord,
who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

The Book of Common Prayer

Leave a Reply

