Monday February 23 :: Heal

Convoy of Wounded Men Filling Water Bottles at a Stream, Stanley Spencer (1932, British)image  ::  Convoy of Wounded Men Filling Water Bottles at a Stream, Stanley Spencer (1932, British)

O Lord, be gracious to me; heal me, for I have sinned against you!”
Psalm 41:4

Sin is the desperate wound
Which must my death procure,
Unless the balm in Gilead found
Administers a cure:
Jesus, my Lord, my God,
Faith to be healed I have;
O let the medicine of thy blood
My soul forever save.

Charles Wesley, Short Hymns on Select Passages of the Holy Scriptures (1762)


sound  :: Salvation, Elton John (1972)

[Spencer saw God in the familiar, and the mundane as holy. Even as he was commissioned by Britain’s War Artists’ Advisory Committee to document WWII Britain in his work, the Gospel resonates.]