Saturday February 28 :: I Would Flee

Volendam, Netherlands, Henk Jonker (1947, Dutch)
image  ::  Volendam, Netherlands, Henk Jonker (1947, Dutch)

“O that I had wings like a dove! I would flee away and be at rest.”
Psalm 55:6

Come heavenly Dove,
My soul remove
From life’s severe distresses,
To that glorious rest above,
To my Lord’s embraces!
Saviour, to thee
I fain would flee,
I would be always praising,
Spend a whole eternity
In worshipping, and gazing!

Charles Wesley, Short Hymns on Select Passages of the Holy Scriptures (1762)

sound  :: On Your Wings, Iron and Wine (2004)

[Jonker documented the impact of the Nazi German WWII occupation of the Netherlands & the Dutch Resistance.  Note the post-war date of today’s image. “God, give us love in the time that we have”.]

Leave a Reply

