Wednesday March 15 :: Kill and Make Alive

O'KEEFFE IN NM--"Black Cross with Stars and Blue" is a 1929 oil on canvas by Georgia O'Keeffe (1887-1986). (from "Georgia O'Keeffe in New Mexico: Architecture, Katsinam, and the Land," by Barbara Buhler Lynes and Carolyn Kastner, published in 2012 by the Museum of New Mexico Press) wjohnson@abqjournal.com Fri May 03 16:06:26 -0600 2013 1367618773 FILENAME: 151883.jpg

image :: Black Cross with Stars and Blue, Georgia O’Keeffe (1929, American)

“See now that I, even I, am He, and there is no god beside Me; I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal.” Deuteronomy 32:39

Thus, while His death my sin displays in all its blackest hue,
Such is the mystery of grace, it seals my pardon too.
With pleasing grief and mournful joy, my spirit is now filled;
That I should such a Life destroy, yet live by Him I killed.

John Newton, 18th century

sound :: Okkervil River R.I.P., Okkervil River (2016)

Leave a Reply

