Wednesday March 22 :: Two Evils

j-f-h-alex-kanevsky-2013-americanimage :: J.F.H., Alex Kanevsky (2013, American)

“My people have committed two evils: they have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters, and hewed out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water.”  Jeremiah 2:13

I have sinned and perverted that which was right,
and it profited me nothing.
And what shall I say now?
Without plea, without excuse,
I am self-condemned. I have destroyed my own self.
O Lord, righteousness belongs to You,
but in me there is only confusion.
You are just in bringing sentence upon me.
And now, Lord, what is my hope?  Is it not You, Lord?
Truly my hope is in You, if I have hope left,
if Your loving-kindness will abound in the face of all my sins.

Lancelot Andrews, 17th century

sound :: Cause Cheap Is How I Feel, Cowboy Junkies (1990)

Leave a Reply

