Saturday March 25 :: Humble

christ-and-the-good-thief-titian-1566-italianimage :: Christ and the Good Thief, Titian (1566, Italian)

“Everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but the one who humbles himself will be exalted.” Luke 18:14

Almighty, eternal Son of God,
our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ,
Thou who art the eternal Word and Image of the Father,
our Mediator and Redeemer, who died for us and rose again,
with all my heart I give Thee thanks,
for Thou didst take upon Thyself the nature of a man
and became my Deliverer,
didst suffer physical pain,
didst die and arise again.
And now Thou art pleading for me.
I beseech Thee, look graciously upon me and have mercy,
for I am alone and in need.
Through Thy Holy Spirit increase in me the light of faith,
help me to overcome my weakness;
guide, protect and make me pure.
In Thee do I put my trust, O Lord;
let me never be ashamed.

Philipp Melanchthon, 16th century

sound :: Heavens Gate, Piers Faccini & Dawn Landes (2016)

Leave a Reply

